“Maltodextrin can be enzymatically derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually corn; in Europe, it is commonly wheat. Wheat-derived maltodextrin may cause concern for individuals suffering from gluten intolerance. If wheat is used to make maltodextrin, it will appear on the label.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maltodextrin)
There should be no concern as to gluten being in wheat-derived maltodextrin, as it would still be wheat-free made either way. (http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/nutrition/ingredients/#maltodextrin)
According to “Fit for Travel” (http://fitnessfortravel.com/is-maltodextrin-bad-for-you/), maltodextrin is safe and even good for you when consuming it after exercise. However, if it is consumed when one has not been exercising—even a short walk—it is stored as fat. “Contrast that with real complex carbs from whole grains, which are broken down and absorbed slowly, and maltodextrin looks more and more like sugar.”
It’s a shame that diabetics have no good alternative for a sugar replacement, aside from stevia which has a terribly bitter after-taste.
answered 3 weeks, 1 day ago
Google both the ingredients and go to Wikapedia for the source and effects. This is the only artificial sweetener I will buy because of the ingredients, and lack of any others.
The maltodextrin and dextrose in this product is derived from corn.